top of page

The Locks this week

Well what happened this week at the locks ? It's that Memory Thing again.

After being stuck on 29 boats a day this Friday saw numbers leap up to 37. Amongst this 37 was our very own Wednesday lock keepers Taryn and Kevin. They have been out on a boat circumnavigating Warwickshire and seeing our canals form a different aspect.

Despite Taryn telling me they would be at Hillmorton mid-morning, they craftily snuck in around 9:30. However they weren't up early enough to beat yours truly as I had the bunting already festooning the lock to welcome them home.

With music blaring out, courtesy of the Canal Chef, Taryn and Kevin received a heroes welcome, although I think the hero tag should go to Taryn. ( all them locks).

Well we had to take advantage of the photo opportunity to record the intrepid travelers return and several shots were taken (tastefully I might add) to record their epic voyage. They then carried on up the locks until they reached the top were they moored up and returned to the Canal Chef to partake in one off the breakfast menu.

Now back to this Memory Thing. Attempting to share the homecoming with all of you peeps, (ALL of you he say's hopefully) I was staggered to find the Memory card in my camera had failed to record the event. Me and technology ! I would therefore implore you all to imagine the sight together with the Brass band music.

On a slightly different tack, I will be voyaging myself to Hillmorton this week aboard the good ship Anitu so keep a wary eye out and give us a wave but not to big, remember to watch your wash.

See you all soon.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page