top of page

THIS WEEK AT THE LOCKS

Well peeps what's been happening lately. Fortunately (touch wood) no more medical emergencies to report just a lot of very nice boaters. This week saw us pass our 2000 boat since starting at the beginning of April.

One hireboat came through with a party from Alaska. The chap at the tiller was doing a lot of shouting but when I found out where they were from I suppose they have to shout so people can hear them. They were travelling towards Coventry with the intention of going up the Ashby to visit the Bosworth battle field. One of the charming ladies said they had been up there the previous week but had missed the battlefield. I pointed out to her that there was no shame in that as the experts had missed the correct spot for years.

They were very interested in canal paraphernalia so I suggested they stopped for a quick coffee in the Canal Chef (Badseys) to check out all the items on display there, and they were glad they did.

The next boat through turned out to be a United Nations boat. The English lady lockwheeler introduced me to here Dutch husband, the boat owner, her Australian cousin and his Chinese wife. All I could say was that I was from Beduff.

Good news two new trainees Kevin and Vince were being put through their paces prior to them taking their CATTS assessment ready to become the latest members of the Hillmorton team. The other good news is that Vince is quite keen on gardening so once he has been assessed by volunteer Jane he can be let loose on the gardening. I can almost feel that Towpath in Bloom cup.

I also had a lady through who mentioned that she "FOLLOWED" me on Facebook and read these blogs. Thinking about this I wondered if she meant "FOLLOWED" us on Twitter Lovely to meet people like this but I completely forgot to ask her name. I think the boat was called UCCELLO. So if you are reading this blog please contact us however so we can put a name to a face/boat.

Just a cautionary note, we have a sunken boat outside the top lock on the moorings. No hazard to navigation and the appropriate team are working to rectify the situation.

And finally, referring to the sunken boat. I was taking my early morning inspection of the moorings above the locks when a boater emerged from his boat ready to face the new day. "Good morning " said I "I hope you are well this beautiful morning". "Fine " he replied " much better than that poor chap" pointing to the sunken boat. "Ah well" I said tongue in cheek "that's what happens if you overstay the 14 days". On my return trip from checking the rest of the moorings the chap had up anchored and moved on!.

Well that's it for this time peeps, but if you are passing through Hillmorton please say hello.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page